The items on the Information Resources page are databases available to Downstate users to assist in their research.
The ones that are of particular interest to you may include:
- AccessPhysiotherapy, Clinical Key and StatRef are collections of textbooks that provide background information as well as images and patient education materials.
- CINAHL is the Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health (you don't have to remember that). You're allied health. It is a database of articles committed to the non-medicine side of healthcare (although there is some overlap with PubMed). There is a lot of overlap in the coverage of CINAHL and PubMed. Both cover the nursing and allied health journal literature, though CINAHL indexes some journals in these fields that are not included in PubMed. PubMed provides more comprehensive coverage of the biomedical journal literature as a whole, though CINAHL does index some of the core clinical medical journals. Searching in CINAHL is covered in another section.
- FA Davis PT Collection includes textbooks, cases for study and discussion, and videos covering a variety of clinical topics and procedures.
- NetAnatomy and Arcland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy are visual catalogs of anatomy images.
- Academic Video Online and JoVE are collections of video teaching modules.
- ERIC is a database produced by the US Department of Education. If you are interested in practicing in a K-12 environment, there would be some good information there.
- PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's version of Medline. It indexes clinical and biomedical literature. It indexes some journals in the area of nursing and allied health as well as complementary and alternative therapies. Searching PubMed is covered in detail in another section.