Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

Library Resources for Public Health Research

Information Resources

Information Resources

The items on the Information Resources page are databases available to Downstate users to assist in their research.

The ones that are of particular interest to you may include:

  • AccessMedicine, Clinical Key and StatRef are collections of textbooks that provide background information as well as images and patient education materials.
  • EBSCOHost Research is a collection of databases on a variety of subjects.  GreenFILE and Environment Complete cover human impact on the environment and vice versa.  Business Source Complete and Entrepreneurial Studies Source cover occupational concerns.
  • InfoShare and PolicyMap are sources of statistical information.  InfoShare covers only New York City.  PolicyMap covers the United States
  • PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's version of MedLine. It indexes clinical and biomedical literature. It indexes some journals in the area of nursing and allied health as well as complementary and alternative therapies. Searching PubMed is covered in detail in another section.
  • Web of Science is a database that covers the intersection between healthcare and social sciences (as well as more clinical information and the hard sciences).  It also indexes Conference Proceedings not covered elsewhere.  Searching Web of Science is covered in detail in another section.