Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

Library Resources for Public Health Research

Accessing EndNote

Accessing EndNote

  • EndNote is a software package that allows you to manage your references to create bibliographies and citations. It is available for both Macintosh and PC computers.
  • The software can be downloaded for either PC or Macintosh from the Library Web Page. There is a link on the blue bar to access the software.
  • EndNote is downloaded in a compressed format.  In order to install the software, you must extract the installer.  If you try to install the software without a properly extracted installer, you will be prompted for a product key.
  • Once installed, you can use the software to collect, organize, and use references

Entering References

Entering References

To add references to your library, you will select from options across the top of the screen.

One option is to hand enter references. Select the button labeled "New Reference" or select "New Reference" from the pull-down menu labeled "References".

Adding a Reference to EndNote

 


 

A new window will open. From the pull-down menu, select the type of document you are creating a reference for. Most items will be journal articles, although there is also the possibility of books or book chapters.

Once you select the document type, the system automatically sets out the fields that need to be filled. The minimum amount of information is listed in the first few fields. There are additional fields you can fill.

If you have less than ten items to add, hand typing may well be the most efficient approach.

Adding a Journal Article to EndNote

Importing References from PubMed

Importing References from PubMed

Perform your PubMed search as usual.

To select references to add to your library, click in the boxes next to those items.

Selecting Reference to Send to EndNote

 


 

From the "Send To" pull-down menu, click on the link labeled "Citation Manaager".

In order to properly import documents you must also use the pull-down menu labeled "Format" to select "MEDLINE".

 


 

To bring the references into EndNote, click on the file created.

You can also import the references by hand.

To bring the references into EndNote, click on the button labeled "Import" or select "Import" from the pull-down menu labeled "File".

Importing References into EndNote

 


 

Find the file that contains your references (It will likely be called pubmed_result.txt).

You will need to apply a filter to import the file. To do so, click on the button labeled "Options".

 

Select the filter needed to appropriately tag the references. In this case, choose "PubMed" as your filter.

Selecting a File Filter

 


 

The references will automatically be saved to a group called "Imported References".

References Imported into EndNote

Importing References from CINAHL

Importing References from Web of Science


                            Click in the box to select reference for import.


Perform your search in in Web of Science as usual. For references that you want to add to your collection, click in the box next to that reference. You can also elect to export all references from your search.

 


 

                           Select Export to EndNote Desktop
Click on the button labeled "Export" and then select "EndNote desktop" from the pull-down menu.

 


 

Select the items you wish to export.
You can export only the items you've selected or all items by clicking in the circle next to that choice.  Then click on the button labeled "Export". Somewhere on your computer - wherever it is that downloaded files go - there will be a file called savedrecs.

 


 


Importing into EndNote

  • Find the file that contains your references (It will likely be called savedrecs).
  • You will need to apply a filter to import the file. To do so, click on the button labeled "Options".

 

 


  

  • Select the filter needed to appropriately tag the references. In this case, choose "Web of Science Core Collection" as your filter. You can import all references or decide to exclude duplicates.  Then click on the button labeled "Import".

                            Select the filter to import your references.

Creating Groups

Creating Groups

If you've acquired references from multiple sources, you'll want to check to make sure that you aren't keeping multiple copies of the same reference.

From the pull-down menu labeled "References", select the option labeled "Find Duplicates".

Looking for Duplicate References

 


 

The software offers you a choice of which form of the referene to keep.

When you've decided which reference to keep, click on the button labeled "Keep this Record".

Deciding Which Reference to Keep

 


 

To add references to a group, click on them once to highlight them.

From the pull-down menu labeled "Groups", select the option labeled "Add References To".

If you already have existing groups, select the group you want to add the references to.

If you have no existing groups, or if you want to create a new group for these references, select the option labeled "Create Custom Group".

Creating a Group

 


 

If you are creating a group for the first time, you will need to give the group a name.

Be sure to give your group a meaningful name. "Cholera vaccines" is more meaningful thatn "PubMed Search".

Adding References to a Group

Creating a Bibliography

Creating a Bibliography

Once you have assembled your references, you may want to produce a bibliography.

Click on the references you want to include in your bibliography by clicking on them once to highlight them

To create a bibliography, click on the button labeled "Export" or select "Export" from the pull-down menu labeled "File".

Creating a Bibliography

 


 

In the resulting dialog box, give your file a name.

In order to maintain the formatting required in most styles (e.g. bolded text, italicized text, underlined text), you must save your file in rtf format.

Choose the bibliographic style in which your bibliography will appear.

When you have made all your selections, click on the button labeled "Save".

Setting the Format of the Bibliography

 


Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write

Cite While Your Write is an add-on that allows you to insert references into your paper using word processing software. It is installed automatically when you install the EndNote software on your computer.

 


 

Once you have typed the text after which you want to insert a reference, you will need to search for the reference in EndNote.

Select the search tool (magnifying glass) from the Cite While You Write Toolbar.

Finding a Reference to Insert

 


 

Enter your search criteria in the search box.

The reference that meets your criteria will appear in the results box. In the event that there is more than one reference, highlight the one you want to use by clicking on it once.

Once you have selected the reference you want to use, click on the button labeled "Insert".

Inserting a Reference

 


 

The note will be added into the text in the format selected.

The citation will be added at the current end of the document. If you wish to make this a new page, hit the return button until a new page is created. Then go back to your text and start typing.

Each time you add a new reference, it will be added to the current end of the document. When you save the document, the bibliography will automatically be alphabetized.

The Bibliography Takes Form

Getting Help

Getting Help

 

There are tutorials available from the vendor and from other sources. Some of these are available on the EndNote page at the Library web site.