Library Resources for Psychiatry Research

Accessing Web of Science

Web of Science indexes materials for life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. It includes conference proceedings not published in association journals.  It also tracks articles that reference the article currently being viewed.

You can access Web of Science from the Library's Information Resources Page and Resources for the School of Public Health.

If you access Web of Science from off-campus, you will have to login to the Library proxy server.

Searching Web of Science

Web of Science searches only by keyword.  You can enter the terms you are interested in into the search box.  Web of Science does not have the same limits that PubMed and EMBASE do, so you often have to include such things as article types and ages in the search itself.  Then click on the button labeled "Search".

Search Results

The full record provides bibliographic information about the article, the number of times the article has been cited and a link to the full text of selected articles.  You can access the full text of the article if the Library subscribes to the journal.  If the Library doesn't subscribe to the journal, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Once you've completed all the steps of your search, you're ready to look at your results.Web of Science originally presents your results in short format. To see a detailed record, click on the title of the article you're interested in.  The full record contains an abstract, keyword indexing, and the number of times the article has been referenced by other authors.

Getting Help

There is online help from Web of Science in using the database.

There are guides to using Web of Science on the list of Resource Guides.

And, of course, you can always ask a librarian for help with your search.