Searching Tutorials - NDNP 7003: Get started

Database Research Skills for Nurse Practitioners

As healthcare professionals in advanced practice roles, your ability to locate, evaluate, and apply the latest evidence is essential to providing optimal patient care.

Why Database Competency Matters

Effective database searching is a core skill for nurse practitioners. Strong research abilities allow you to:

• Access the most current evidence to inform clinical decision-making
• Stay updated on emerging treatments, guidelines, and best practices
• Support your clinical reasoning with robust scientific evidence
• Enhance patient education with reliable health information
• Contribute meaningfully to quality improvement initiatives

Understanding Database Differences

PubMed, CINAHL, and Web of Science each offer unique strengths and content coverage that complement one another:

• PubMed: Provides broad biomedical literature coverage with strengths in clinical medicine and basic sciences. Its free accessibility and comprehensive indexing of MEDLINE make it essential for clinical queries.

• CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature): Specializes in nursing and allied health literature with extensive coverage of nursing journals, practice guidelines, and evidence-based care sheets not found in PubMed.

• Web of Science: Offers interdisciplinary coverage with powerful citation analysis tools that help you track the impact of research and identify seminal works in your field.

Learning the unique features of each database will significantly enhance your search efficiency and the quality of evidence you retrieve.

Building on Your Research Skills

Before diving into the specific tutorials, we recommend reviewing our Evidence-based Nursing Guide which provides foundational concepts in evidence appraisal and integration into practice.

Need help finding or using Downstate Library resources? We're here to help!

Email us: reference@downstate.edu or use our online form.